calfordseaden was appointed on this major refurbishment scheme converting a Grade II Listed building to its former residential use. This imposing property was built in 1911 by Sir Edwin Lutyens and has accommodation set out over basement, ground and three upper floors.
The building was damaged during World War II and the original staircase had been replaced with a concrete staircase when it was converted for commercial use.
Our proposals for the complex and sympathetic de-conversion of the 10,000 sq ft office space was welcomed by the local authority and we were able to secure planning and listed building consent within the statutory eight weeks.
Our design for the refurbishment looked back to the original house layout whilst incorporating contemporary elements such as a state-of-the-art audio, visual and IT systems.
One of the new dominant features of the house was the installation of a purpose-built spiral, cantilevered, stone staircase with wrought iron balustrade. This links the main reception rooms at ground level to upper floors and provides a stunning addition to the gracious and well-proportioned rooms.
We provided interior design services for the principal reception rooms and sleeping accommodation, designed a bespoke fireplace for the drawing room to complement the stone door surrounds and replaced the original ‘Jagger’ surround which is now displayed in the Victoria & Albert Museum.
We are proud to have been associated with this stunning restoration and the new owners were delighted to have been able to return a fine example of Sir Edwin Lutyens’ London architecture back to its former glory.